Skip to content ↓

Maths

In this section, the Mathematics department provides an overview of the KS3, KS4 & KS5 curriculum and resources to aid revision and support progress.

Department Contacts

Staff

Role

Contact
Mrs A Joannou

Maths Teacher

Line Manager - Mathematics

Vice Principal

AJoannou@thomasclarksonacademy.org
Mr M Harrison

Maths Teacher

Leader of Mathematics

(Brooke Weston Trust)

MHarrison@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs F Timothy Nicholas

Maths Teacher
Head of Maths

FTimothy-Nicholas@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr S White

Maths Teacher

KS5 Co-ordinator

SWhite@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr B Botten

Maths Teacher

BBotten@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Ms K Scott

Maths Teacher
KS3 Co-ordinator

KScott@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs K Gray-Hannah

Maths Teacher
Numeracy Co-ordinator for Yr 7 & 8

KHannah@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss A Birch Higher Level TA AChambers@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss M Ramarope

Maths Teacher

MRamarope@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss A Rose Maths Teacher

ARose1@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr P Griffiths Maths Teacher PGriffiths@thomasclarksonacademy.org
Mr P Winfield

Maths Teacher,

Yr 8 Raising Standards Leader

PWinfield@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr L Bullock

Maths Teacher

Year 11 Raising Standards Leader

LBullock@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs D Zielinski Maths Teacher DZielinski@thomasclarksonacademy.org
Mr K Hussain Maths Teacher

KHussain@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs Y Dennis Maths Teacher

YDennis@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Curriculum

We follow the Pearson 5-year scheme of work, which has three learning paths, linked to Key Stage 2 outcomes.

At Key Stage 3 these are Pi, Theta and Delta. From students’ performance at Key Stage 3, these refine to foundation and higher at GCSE.

At A Level we follow the Edexcel course for both A Level Mathematics and A Level Further Mathematics.

There is a very clear link between Scheme of Work, lesson plans, textbooks, homework, progress check, feedback and intervention work.

Students have access to electronic versions of textbooks when completing their homework.

Structure of the tiers

KS4 follows 2 tiers: Foundation and Higher in Yrs 10 and 11

KS3 follows 3 tiers: Pi , Theta and Delta in Yr 7, 8 and 9.

Pi – low ability (emerging and developing students)

Theta – middle ability ( developing and securing students)

Delta – higher ability ( securing, advanced and exceptional students)

Assessment

All students complete assessments at the end of every unit and progress assessment checks three times a year. This enables us to monitor their progress and effectively organise intervention when necessary.

Revision Resources:

Homework for all year groups is set on ‘Show My Homework’ and is designed to support and develop the learning that is taking place in our classrooms in relation to our Schemes of Learning.  Homework is set on a weekly basis and should take 60 minutes to complete for KS4 and 30 minutes to complete for KS3.

Additional Revision Resources:

Passwords are available from class teachers.

KS3 Curriculum

Schemes of work:

Year 7 Pi

Year 7 Theta

Year 7 Delta

Year 8 Pi

Year 8 Theta

Year 8 Delta

 

Year 10 Autumn

Foundation

  • Unit 10 Transformations
  • Unit 11 Ratio and proportion
  • Unit 12 Right angled triangles

Higher

  • Unit 10 Probability
  • Unit 11 Multiplicative reasoning
  • Unit 12 Similarity and congruence 

Year 10 Spring

Foundation

  • Unit 13 Probability
  • Unit 14 Multiplicative reasoning
  • Unit 15 Constructions, loci and bearings

Higher

  • Unit 13 More trigonometry
  • Unit 14 Further statistics
  • Unit 15 Equations and graphs

Year 10 Summer

Foundation

  • Unit 16 Quadratic equations and graphs
  • Unit 17 Perimeter, area and volume 2

Higher

  • Unit 16 Circle theorems
  • Unit 17 More algebra
 

Year 11 Autumn

Foundation

  • Unit 18 Fractions, indices and standard form
  • Unit 19 Congruence, similarity and vectors
  • Unit 20 More algebra

Higher

  • Unit 18 Vectors and geometric proof
  • Unit 19 Proportion and graphs

Year 11 Spring

  • Revision and exam paper practise

Year 11 Summer

  • Revision and exam paper practise