Skip to content ↓

Maths

In this section, the Mathematics department provides an overview of the KS3, KS4 & KS5 curriculum and resources to aid revision and support progress.

Department Contacts

Staff

Role

Contact
Mr M Harrison

Maths Teacher, Lead of Mathematics

Vice Principal

MHarrison@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs F Timothy Nicholas

Maths Teacher,  KS4
Co-ordinator

FTimothy-Nicholas@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr S White Maths Teacher, KS5
Co-ordinator

SWhite@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr B Botten

Maths Teacher, Yr 9
Co-ordinator

BBotten@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Ms K Scott

Maths Teacher,  KS3
Co-ordinator

KScott@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs K Grey-Hannah

Maths Teacher,  Numeracy Co-ordinator for Yr 7 & 8

KHannah@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss M Ramarope

Maths Teacher,  Homework Co-ordinator for Yr 7 & 8

MRamarope@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss A Chambers Higher Level TA for KS3

 AChambers@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs D Stevenson Higher Level TA for KS4

DStevenson@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs A Joannou

Maths Teacher,

Vice Principal

AJoannou@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Miss A Rose Maths Teacher

ARose1@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr P Griffiths Maths Teacher PGriffiths@thomasclarksonacademy.org
Mr P Winfield

Maths Teacher,

Yr 7 Raising Standards Leader

PWinfield@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr L Bullock

Maths Teacher

LBullock@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mr K Hussain Maths Teacher

KHussain@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs Y Dennis Maths Teacher

YDennis@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Mrs L Fitzhenry Maths Teacher

Lfitzhenry@thomasclarksonacademy.org

Curriculum

We follow the Pearson 5-year scheme of work, which has three learning paths, linked to Key Stage 2 outcomes.

At Key Stage 3 these are Pi, Theta and Delta. From students’ performance at Key Stage 3, these refine to foundation and higher at GCSE.

At A Level we follow the Edexcel course for both A Level Mathematics and A Level Further Mathematics.

There is a very clear link between SoW, lesson plans, textbooks, homework, progress check, feedback and intervention work.

Students have access to electronic versions of textbooks when completing their homework.

Structure of the tiers

KS4 follows 2 tiers: Foundation and Higher in Yrs 9, 10 and 11

KS3 follows 3 tiers: Pi , Theta and Delta in Yr 7 and 8.

Pi – low ability (emerging and developing students)

Theta – middle ability ( developing and securing students)

Delta – higher ability ( securing, advanced and exceptional students)

Assessment

All students complete assessments at the end of every unit and three times a year. This enables us to monitor their progress and effectively organise intervention when necessary.

Revision Resources:

Homework for all year groups is set on ‘Show My Homework’ and is designed to support and develop the learning that is taking place in our classrooms in relation to our Schemes of Learning.  Homework is set on a weekly basis and should take 60 minutes to complete.

Additional Revision Resources:

Passwords are available from class teachers.

KS3 Curriculum

Schemes of work:

Year 7 Pi

Year 7 Theta

Year 7 Delta

Year 8 Pi

Year 8 Theta

Year 8 Delta
 

Year 9 Autumn

Foundation

  • Unit 1 Number
  • Unit 2 Algebra
  • Unit 3 Graphs, tables and charts

Higher

  • Unit 1 Number
  • Unit 2 Algebra
  • Unit 3 Interpreting and representing data

Year 9 Spring

Foundation

  • Unit 4 Fractions and percentages
  • Unit 5 Equations, inequalities and sequences
  • Unit 6 Angles

Higher

  • Unit 4 Fractions, ratio and proportion
  • Unit 5 Angles and trigonometry
  • Unit 6 Graphs

Year 9 Summer

Foundation

  • Unit 7 Averages and range
  • Unit 8 Perimeter, area and volume 1
  • Unit 9 Graphs

Higher

  • Unit 7 Area and volume
  • Unit 8 Transformations and constructions
  • Unit 9 Equations and inequalities 

Year 10 Autumn

Foundation

  • Unit 9 Graphs
  • Unit 10 Transformations
  • Unit 11 Ratio and proportion

Higher

  • Unit 9 Equations and inequalities
  • Unit 10 Probability
  • Unit 11 Multiplicative reasoning

Year 10 Spring

Foundation

  • Unit 12 Right-angled triangles
  • Unit 13 Probability
  • Unit 14 Multiplicative reasoning

Higher

  • Unit 12 Similarly and congruence
  • Unit 13 More trigonometry
  • Unit 14 Further statistics

Year 10 Summer

Foundation

  • Unit 15 Constructions, loci and bearings
  • Unit 16 Quadratic equations and graphs
  • Unit 17 Perimeter, area and volume 2

Higher

  • Unit 15 Equations and graphs
  • Unit 16 Circle theorems
  • Unit 17 More algebra
 

Year 11 Autumn

Foundation

  • Unit 18 Fractions, indices and standard form
  • Unit 19 Congruence, similarity and vectors
  • Unit 20 More algebra

Higher

  • Unit 18 Vectors and geometric proof
  • Unit 19 Proportion and graphs

Year 11 Spring

  • Revision and exam paper practise

Year 11 Summer

  • Revision and exam paper practise